Just a Little Effort

© Monika3stepsahead | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

© Monika3stepsahead | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

A few months ago I challenged myself to choose an area of “Going Green” and committing to it. I attended a Green Workshop and was thoroughly enlightened by what I learned. At that moment I wanted to take steps to reduce my Carbon Footprint in the environment.

What is a  Carbon Footprint? I’m glad you asked!  A carbon footprint is composed of two parts, a primary and secondary. Examples of a primary: When you drive a car, ride the bus, airplane or train; the engine burns fuel… When you heat your house, school or office with oil, gas or coal… You’re also burning fuel. The burn off from these fuels is released into the air as carbon dioxide (CO2). Are you following me now? … I hope so, but listen there’s more. An example of a secondary: When you buy food, clothes or even electronic devices. The production of the food and goods also emit some quantities of CO2 (carbon dioxide) into the atmosphere. Now, we’re on the same page…

Your carbon footprint is the sum of all emissions of CO2 (carbon dioxide), which was induced by your activities in a given time frame.

I was able to calculate my impact on the climate. Sadly, like most Americans, I have a big footprint!! See my score below:

My impact on the climate.

My impact on the climate. Visit nature.org for a free calculator and other information.

I evaluated my space, then I thought, “What could I do that wouldn’t disrupt my current daily flow?” I know that sounds selfish, but my schedule is arranged to meet my current needs and, more importantly, my likes. I found out my apartment complex has the blue recycle bin. I thought to myself this is going to be easier than I anticipated. I take my garbage out already…I just need to separate the items. I learned what items were recyclable by going here: Recycle Now

Recycle Now Philadelphia is a great resource if you’re in this area. I signed up for the monthly news letter and a Rewards Program (free stuff for taking out the trash! This is cool).

I’ve been sorting my garbage and disposing of it for a few weeks now, only to learn the bin is not being emptied… Really?!  The bin is full and my apartment complex trash day is Friday. I learned from Recycle Now, the recycle bins are supposed to be emptied the same day my garage is picked up.  I sent an email to my local recycle drop off center and made a note to contact the recycling department at the city’s trash program to see what I can do to get this resolved. I’ve come too far to throw it all away now (I couldn’t resist) 🙂

It seems like a lot and it is… But you would be surprised at what little effort it takes locally to reduce waste and pollutants, and conserve our world’s scarce natural resources. I want to create a healthier way of living for myself and others. If you want to learn more about recycling in your area check your local city website for information or visit

Waste Management They offer a home pickup (for a fee).

I’ll keep you posted. 🙂

This entry was published on April 1, 2013 at 2:00 PM and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

